FMP 2: My Submission

After animating, I had several shots that needed to be cut together which I did in Adobe Premiere, I also used the programme to export my finished animation in the correct format – according to the submission guidelines. Despite having timed out my animation in the animatic stage, I animated a few frames either side of each required shot so that I would have a little play when editing, this meant that I could have more control over the timing of the piece but it also made the editing a touch more fiddly. I had to pay close attention to the audio so that I wouldn’t inadvertently change the provided clip, in the end I successfully edited the clips together, adhering to the exact timing of the audio without throwing off my lip-sync.

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 15.57.19
Editing my submission.

After finishing my animation it was time to submit it to the competition. I followed the guidelines and fortunately it went smoothly.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 14.55.28

My submission can be found here: http://www.11secondclub.com/competitions/february16/entry/91C2L4

I ended up placing 45th out of 231 entries. I didn’t really know what to expect; obviously I would have liked to have placed higher just because it would be nice to see people appreciating my work but I believe 45th is a respectable place to come, especially for my first submission.

The main goal of this exercise was to get some feedback on my work and hopefully some constructive criticism, whilst there wasn’t much in terms of advice, it was nice to see people respond to my animation and the majority of it was very supportive. Hopefully, if I enter the competition again (and I’m sure I will) I’ll be able to work my way up and place higher and higher each time as I improve as an animator.

Leave a Reply

