FMP 2: Character Design Inspiration

As I believe the music playing throughout the audio clip is Russian folk music I turned to Russian folk art for some visual inspiration, what I came across was Bogorodskoye toys. The term “Bogorodskoye” comes from the village synonymous with the toys and they are gorgeous, hand crafted sculptures and motion toys.

I think there’s something really pleasing in the handcrafted aesthetic that these have, perhaps it’s something akin to how Aardman enjoy the fingerprints and marks left by the animator on their models, but I like the texture and tool marks of Bogorodskoye toys. It’s something I’ll consider replicating in my puppets, it will at the very least be worth experimenting with.

Leave a Reply

