FMP 2: Ladislas Starevich

Knowing that I want to produce a stop-motion animation, and with the Russian inspired audio and characters, I thought of Ladislas Starevich. Starevich was at the forefront of Russian animation and a pioneer of stop-motion, even creating the first film to use puppets. Whilst under-appreciated today, mostly due to a large portion of his work though lost, he is a huge influence to animators, as well as myself.

He remained in creative control over all his work and it certainly has a style, crude in some places, particularly in regards to camera technology, but the actual animation and puppets hold up extremely well, rivalling (and often bettering) work today.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 22.31.25
A still from Starevich’s most accomplished work, ‘The Tale of the Fox‘. Featuring, I was happy to find, Starevich’s representation of a bear.

As much as I adore the style of Starevich’s films, I don’t believe that it’s appropriate for me to emulate it in my submission; the goal of the competition is to showcase character animation. As he is such an inspiration, Starevich’s work always influences my own but in this case, I don’t believe the charm of his innovative animations would be effectively translated.

Leave a Reply

